ESSENTIAL CINEMA

THIS IS NOT A FILM

Written, produced, and edited by Jafar Panahi

Cast: Jafar Panahi
Iran, 2011, Wide Distribution, DCP, color, 75 min.
Farsi with English subtitles

A riveting 24-hour portrait of world-renowned filmmaker Jafar Panahi, who slyly circumvents the Iranian government ban on his making films for 20 years.

Screening Info

Tuesday, February 19, 7 PM
Alamo Drafthouse Village

(2700 W. Anderson Lane)

Read the Program Notes by Chale Nafus
Back to Essential Cinema: Children of Abraham/Ibrahim 7: Films of the Middle East and Beyond
Browse Past Essential Cinema Screenings

TICKET PRICES
$8 General Admission /
$5 AFS MAKE & WATCH members plus students (with valid ID) /
Free to AFS LOVE & Premiere members

If you're a student, click here to learn more about student discounts and memberships!

Don't see your AFS member discount? Log in now or become a member to receive AFS discounts.

Ticketing 101

Online ticketing closes at 3 PM on the day of the show for weekday screenings and 10 AM for weekend shows. Remaining tickets are available at the theater.

Austin Film Society Members must be logged in to view free or discounted ticket options. Log in >>

Not a member? Join now!

Create a website account here and click on "New User Registration."

Questions? Check out Help or call our office at 512-322-0145.


Upcoming Events

Advance Screening: FORCE MAJEURE
Mon, 20 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:45 PM

Moviemaker Dialogue: SHOOTING ON FILM FOR INDIES
Tue, 21 Oct 2014
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Arthouse: ABUSE OF WEAKNESS
Wed, 22 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:20 PM

Essential Cinema: MAHAPURUSH (THE HOLY MAN)
Thu, 23 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 8:45 PM

Premieres and Special Screenings: HARMONTOWN - Screening and Live Podcast
Fri, 24 Oct 2014
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Art Horror: AMUCK
Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5:00 PM - 6:40 PM

Arthouse: ABUSE OF WEAKNESS
Sun, 26 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 10:00 PM

History of TV: Special Edition: SATANIC PANIC
Mon, 27 Oct 2014
8:00 PM - 10:15 PM

Avant Cinema: Avant Garde Cinema of the 1920s: France, Part 2
Wed, 29 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: NAYAK (THE HERO)
Thu, 30 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:45 PM

Art Horror: HAUSU
Fri, 31 Oct 2014
10:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Art Horror: HAUSU
Sun, 02 Nov 2014
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

New Releases: JEALOUSY
Sun, 02 Nov 2014
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM


More Events Print View