SUMMER FREE FOR ALL                    

FREE 35MM SCREENINGS THROUGHOUT JUNE

Summer Free For All
May 31- June 23, 2013
AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Road, near Highland Mall)

a woman under the influence

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SEX* (*BUT WERE AFRAID TO ASK)
Friday, May 31, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 2, 2 PM

A hysterical comedy from Woody Allen's "early, funny" years. This is one of the all-time-great laugh-out-loud movies. It's both a fearless look at the sexual climate of its age as well as a perfect encapsulation of Allen's comedic genius. This film marked a real step forward for Allen as a filmmaker and the its wild, intercutting sequences build to a magnificent, uh, climax as Allen plays a neurotic sperm. More info and tickets >>

THE KILLING OF A CHINESE BOOKIE

CLEOPATRA
Friday, June 7, 8 PM
Sunday, June 9, 2 PM


Cecil B. Demille's Big Kinky precode epic imagines Cleopatra as a dame on the make. The magnificent Claudette Colbert slinks through this hilarious hokum in an astounding assortment of diaphanous fetish gear. More info and tickets >>

A HERO NEVER DIES
Friday, June 14, 8 PM
Sunday, June 16, 2 PM

Johnnie To's hyper-evolved deconstruction of that most hackneyed Hong Kong sub-genre, the male-bonding gangster tragedy. This film turns the potent cheap music of its source into a symphony of cinema. 
More info and tickets >>

BEAU TRAVAIL
Friday, June 21, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 23, 7 PM


One of master auteur Claire Denis' most celebrated films, BEAU TRAVAIL is a sensual and visually dazzling story of French Foreign Legionnaires stationed in coastal Africa, where the inner world of one of the legion's punishing task masters is subtly brought to light.  The unforgettable final scene of this film will hook you on Claire Denis' absolute brilliance! More info and tickets >>

 

 

Upcoming Events

Essential Cinema: MAHANAGAR (THE BIG CITY)
Thu, 02 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Art Horror: POSSESSION
Fri, 03 Oct 2014
8:00 PM - 10:10 PM

Art Horror: POSSESSION
Sun, 05 Oct 2014
2:00 PM - 4:10 PM

Advance Screening: MEN, WOMEN & CHILDREN with Jason Reitman in attendance
Sun, 05 Oct 2014
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Art Horror: POSSESSION
Tue, 07 Oct 2014
8:00 PM - 10:10 PM

Doc Nights: LAS MARTHAS
Wed, 08 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: CHARULATA (THE LONELY WIFE)
Thu, 09 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Art Horror: KWAIDAN
Fri, 10 Oct 2014
8:00 PM - 10:10 PM

Art Horror: KWAIDAN
Sun, 12 Oct 2014
12:00 PM - 2:10 PM

Arthouse: THE SARNOS: A LIFE IN DIRTY MOVIES
Sun, 12 Oct 2014
4:30 PM - 6:00 PM

Arthouse: MOONLIGHTING WIVES
Sun, 12 Oct 2014
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Essential Cinema: KAPURUSH (THE COWARD)
Tue, 14 Oct 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM


More Events Print View