SUMMER FREE FOR ALL                    

FREE 35MM SCREENINGS THROUGHOUT JUNE

Summer Free For All
May 31- June 23, 2013
AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Road, near Highland Mall)

a woman under the influence

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SEX* (*BUT WERE AFRAID TO ASK)
Friday, May 31, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 2, 2 PM

A hysterical comedy from Woody Allen's "early, funny" years. This is one of the all-time-great laugh-out-loud movies. It's both a fearless look at the sexual climate of its age as well as a perfect encapsulation of Allen's comedic genius. This film marked a real step forward for Allen as a filmmaker and the its wild, intercutting sequences build to a magnificent, uh, climax as Allen plays a neurotic sperm. More info and tickets >>

THE KILLING OF A CHINESE BOOKIE

CLEOPATRA
Friday, June 7, 8 PM
Sunday, June 9, 2 PM


Cecil B. Demille's Big Kinky precode epic imagines Cleopatra as a dame on the make. The magnificent Claudette Colbert slinks through this hilarious hokum in an astounding assortment of diaphanous fetish gear. More info and tickets >>

A HERO NEVER DIES
Friday, June 14, 8 PM
Sunday, June 16, 2 PM

Johnnie To's hyper-evolved deconstruction of that most hackneyed Hong Kong sub-genre, the male-bonding gangster tragedy. This film turns the potent cheap music of its source into a symphony of cinema. 
More info and tickets >>

BEAU TRAVAIL
Friday, June 21, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 23, 7 PM


One of master auteur Claire Denis' most celebrated films, BEAU TRAVAIL is a sensual and visually dazzling story of French Foreign Legionnaires stationed in coastal Africa, where the inner world of one of the legion's punishing task masters is subtly brought to light.  The unforgettable final scene of this film will hook you on Claire Denis' absolute brilliance! More info and tickets >>

 

 

Upcoming Events

Penelope Spheeris Live in Person: SUBURBIA
Sat, 29 Aug 2015
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Penelope Spheeris Live in Person: THE DECLINE OF WESTERN CIVILIZATION PT. III
Sat, 29 Aug 2015
10:15 PM - 11:59 PM

Avant Cinema: A PIGEON SAT ON A BRANCH REFLECTING ON EXISTENCE
Sun, 30 Aug 2015
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Arthouse Way of the Samurai: 13 ASSASSINS
Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Deep Tracks: SAVAGE GOLD
Mon, 31 Aug 2015
8:00 PM - 11:59 PM

The Bright Side: PINOY SUNDAY
Thu, 03 Sep 2015
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Newly Restored: THE KING AND THE MOCKINGBIRD (Fr)
Fri, 04 Sep 2015
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM


More Events Print View