SUMMER FREE FOR ALL                    

FREE 35MM SCREENINGS THROUGHOUT JUNE

Summer Free For All
May 31- June 23, 2013
AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Road, near Highland Mall)

a woman under the influence

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SEX* (*BUT WERE AFRAID TO ASK)
Friday, May 31, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 2, 2 PM

A hysterical comedy from Woody Allen's "early, funny" years. This is one of the all-time-great laugh-out-loud movies. It's both a fearless look at the sexual climate of its age as well as a perfect encapsulation of Allen's comedic genius. This film marked a real step forward for Allen as a filmmaker and the its wild, intercutting sequences build to a magnificent, uh, climax as Allen plays a neurotic sperm. More info and tickets >>

THE KILLING OF A CHINESE BOOKIE

CLEOPATRA
Friday, June 7, 8 PM
Sunday, June 9, 2 PM


Cecil B. Demille's Big Kinky precode epic imagines Cleopatra as a dame on the make. The magnificent Claudette Colbert slinks through this hilarious hokum in an astounding assortment of diaphanous fetish gear. More info and tickets >>

A HERO NEVER DIES
Friday, June 14, 8 PM
Sunday, June 16, 2 PM

Johnnie To's hyper-evolved deconstruction of that most hackneyed Hong Kong sub-genre, the male-bonding gangster tragedy. This film turns the potent cheap music of its source into a symphony of cinema. 
More info and tickets >>

BEAU TRAVAIL
Friday, June 21, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 23, 7 PM


One of master auteur Claire Denis' most celebrated films, BEAU TRAVAIL is a sensual and visually dazzling story of French Foreign Legionnaires stationed in coastal Africa, where the inner world of one of the legion's punishing task masters is subtly brought to light.  The unforgettable final scene of this film will hook you on Claire Denis' absolute brilliance! More info and tickets >>

 

 

Upcoming Events

Free Kid's Club: Pete's Dragon
Sat, 26 Jul 2014
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Arthouse: THE SEPIA SCREEN
Sun, 27 Jul 2014
2:00 PM - 4:20 PM

Special Screening: TWO STEP
Tue, 29 Jul 2014
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Avant Cinema: Curtis Harrington Shorts
Wed, 30 Jul 2014
7:30 PM - 9:15 PM

Essential Cinema: LIV AND INGMAR
Thu, 31 Jul 2014
7:30 PM - 9:15 PM

Marchesa Celebration Screening: THE BAND WAGON
Fri, 01 Aug 2014
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Essential Cinema: THE LADY EVE
Thu, 07 Aug 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Films of Roger Corman: THAT GUY DICK MILLER
Fri, 08 Aug 2014
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Arthouse: A BUCKET OF BLOOD
Fri, 08 Aug 2014
10:00 PM - 11:10 PM


More Events Print View