SUMMER FREE FOR ALL                    

FREE 35MM SCREENINGS THROUGHOUT JUNE

Summer Free For All
May 31- June 23, 2013
AFS at the Marchesa (6226 Middle Fiskville Road, near Highland Mall)

a woman under the influence

EVERYTHING YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT SEX* (*BUT WERE AFRAID TO ASK)
Friday, May 31, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 2, 2 PM

A hysterical comedy from Woody Allen's "early, funny" years. This is one of the all-time-great laugh-out-loud movies. It's both a fearless look at the sexual climate of its age as well as a perfect encapsulation of Allen's comedic genius. This film marked a real step forward for Allen as a filmmaker and the its wild, intercutting sequences build to a magnificent, uh, climax as Allen plays a neurotic sperm. More info and tickets >>

THE KILLING OF A CHINESE BOOKIE

CLEOPATRA
Friday, June 7, 8 PM
Sunday, June 9, 2 PM


Cecil B. Demille's Big Kinky precode epic imagines Cleopatra as a dame on the make. The magnificent Claudette Colbert slinks through this hilarious hokum in an astounding assortment of diaphanous fetish gear. More info and tickets >>

A HERO NEVER DIES
Friday, June 14, 8 PM
Sunday, June 16, 2 PM

Johnnie To's hyper-evolved deconstruction of that most hackneyed Hong Kong sub-genre, the male-bonding gangster tragedy. This film turns the potent cheap music of its source into a symphony of cinema. 
More info and tickets >>

BEAU TRAVAIL
Friday, June 21, 8 PM 
Sunday, June 23, 7 PM


One of master auteur Claire Denis' most celebrated films, BEAU TRAVAIL is a sensual and visually dazzling story of French Foreign Legionnaires stationed in coastal Africa, where the inner world of one of the legion's punishing task masters is subtly brought to light.  The unforgettable final scene of this film will hook you on Claire Denis' absolute brilliance! More info and tickets >>

 

 

Upcoming Events

Doc Nights: TANGO NEGRO
Wed, 17 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: AUSTERIA
Thu, 18 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:15 PM

Moviemaker Dialogue: Campaign Marketing for Crowdfunders, presented by Indiegogo
Mon, 22 Sep 2014
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Arthouse: BLOW-UP
Tue, 23 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Avant Cinema: Avant Garde Cinema of the 1920s: France, Part 1
Wed, 24 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: SARAGOSSA MANUSCRIPT
Thu, 25 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 10:40 PM

Best of the Fests: Sundance Shorts
Fri, 26 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

KID'S CLUB: The Magic Sword
Sat, 27 Sep 2014
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Auteur Obscure: THE HOT, THE COOL & THE VICIOUS
Sun, 28 Sep 2014
2:00 PM - 3:35 PM

Arthouse: SAVAGE GOLD
Mon, 29 Sep 2014
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM


More Events Print View