TEXAS INDEPENDENT FILM NETWORK

SEARCHING FOR SONNY

When directionless twenty-something Elliot Knight attends his 10-year reunion in Texas, a complex murder mystery leads his crew of high school pals on a mission to find their missing friend, Sonny. Elliot enlists the help of his fraternal twin Calvin, a pot-smoking barista, his timorous former classmate Gary Noble, and his high school sweetheart Eden Mercer.

While digging up a forgotten time capsule, the friends discover the body of Eden’s husband, and find themselves the chief suspects in his murder. The mystery turns meta when the three bumbling friends discover that everything happening seems eerily similar to a play they performed in high school — a play Sonny wrote. Deception leads to problems, and it soon seems that shady businessmen and school officials are involved in a complex scheme of money and murder.

“Kinky and subversive, dark and outrageous, SEARCHING FOR SONNY is the funniest movie I've seen all year .”

-Mike Saulters, Slackerwood


Upcoming Events

Arthouse: LEVEL FIVE
Sun, 14 Sep 2014
1:00 PM - 2:50 PM

Conspirare Presents PABLO NERUDA: THE POET'S CALLING
Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4:00 PM - 5:10 PM

History of TV: INTERNATIONAL DAY OF ROCKFORD
Mon, 15 Sep 2014
8:00 PM - 9:50 PM

Works-in-Progress: VIETNAM APPRECIATION DAY
Tue, 16 Sep 2014
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Doc Nights: TANGO NEGRO
Wed, 17 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: AUSTERIA
Thu, 18 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:15 PM

Moviemaker Dialogue: Campaign Marketing for Crowdfunders, presented by Indiegogo
Mon, 22 Sep 2014
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Arthouse: BLOW-UP
Tue, 23 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Avant Cinema: Avant Garde Cinema of the 1920s: France, Part 1
Wed, 24 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Essential Cinema: SARAGOSSA MANUSCRIPT
Thu, 25 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 10:40 PM

Best of the Fests: Sundance Shorts
Fri, 26 Sep 2014
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

KID'S CLUB: The Magic Sword
Sat, 27 Sep 2014
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM


More Events Print View