Virtual Screening

Pahokee

Directed by Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas

United States, 2019, 1h 50min

Virtual Screening

Now Streaming
Watch Now

AFS Community: Receive a $6 discount on this virtual screening when you use the discount code austinfilmsociety.

Current AFS members have a unique discount code for $8 off that was sent by email on April 23.

Ivete Lucas and Patrick Bresnan create a portrait of PAHOKEE, a small rural town located in the Florida Everglades, a community tightly knit together that struggles with financial insecurities and a bleak future. Through an extremely precise observational approach, the film manages to capture the daily life of the town with a great wealth of nuanced details. From sports events to school beauty contests, the filmmakers observe how, through social and collective rituals, the ideas of gender and identity are publicly displayed while creating new narratives. Moving past the crucial Wiseman lesson, which Lucas and Bresnan have fully absorbed, the film possesses the distinct feel of a Gil Scott Heron song, with its deep streak of rural blues tinged with urban echoes. A complex and multi-layered work that recalls also both the gritty social realism of the new American cinema as well as the neorealist touch. PAHOKEE is a powerful portrait of a forgotten America absent from the current political discourse.

WATCH AN INTRO WITH THE FILMMAKERS

LIVESTREAM Q&As

Join us for a special Q&A with directors Patrick Bresnan and Ivete Lucas, moderated by Houston Cinema Arts Society. This Texas-focused Q&A takes place on Wednesday, April 29 at 7 PM.

Additional Q&As:

April 26th @ 6PM ET / 3PM PT – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttuU0y–ATU
May 2nd @ 8PM ET / 5PM PT – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Zrl8-g_fhI

X

Thanks To Our Annual Sponsors