Texas Film Awards

Chair: Kathy Blackwell


Thank you for helping us raise over $300,000 for the next generation of filmmakers.



Austin Film Society’s Texas Film Awards is the year’s biggest event for Texans in film, and it’s time to officially mark your calendars for March 8, 2018. We’ll bring the stars of Texas to Austin for an unforgettable night of surprises and celebration, all benefiting the artistic and educational programs of the Austin Film Society.

This year, we’re excited to announce a new take on our signature event. The newly renovated AFS Cinema will serve as the setting as we honor the newest member of the Texas Film Hall of Fame. The evening will include glamorous Red Carpet Arrivals of the evening’s special guests, a star-studded induction ceremony in our theaters, and end with an exclusive After Party in the AFS Cinema event hall.

Eight-time Academy Award®-nominated screenwriter and director Paul Thomas Anderson (PHANTOM THREAD, BOOGIE NIGHTS) will accept the inaugural Jonathan Demme Award. Armie Hammer, star of Best Picture Oscar nominee CALL ME BY YOUR NAME, will accept the Variety One to Acclaim Award.

A special VIP package will include an intimate dinner with our honoree and other special guests at the beautiful new Fairmont Hotel that will immediately precede the Texas Film Hall of Fame ceremony.

Tickets are limited this year and the event will sell out.


Wendi Aarons
Maria Bergh
Jane Black
Laura & Tommy Craddick
Merrill Davis
Amy Edwards & Kevin Green
Taylor Ellison
Ashley Giroir
Kathy Grant
Katie Kime
Karen Kopicki
Tracy LaQuey Parker
Heidi Marquez Smith
Windsor McKenna
Laura Merritt
Cile Montgomery
Jesse Parker Stowell
Jen Strickland


Thanks To Our Sponsors